Football Genius by Tim Green

Football Genius by Tim Green was not a book that I would typically pick out on my own.  In fact, the only reason that I started reading it was because it is a Georgia Book Award nominee this year and there will be questions from it in the Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl this school year.  I’ve got to help my team win, right?  

Let’s go through the reasons why I would usually  just ignore this book:

  1. It’s about football.
  2. I’m a girl and this sounds like a book that a guy might like.
  3. I don’t know anything about football plays.

Well, I’m glad that this book is nominated for the Georgia Book Award because I read it and couldn’t put it down!  Even though I don’t know much about football, Tim Green (the author) provided enough action in the story that was off the football field that it held my interest!  Troy, the main character, does some crazy things to get his football talents noticed.  He even risks getting arrested on more than one occasion.   

This book would make a wonderful read-aloud for 4th and 5th grade classrooms!  Tim Green has a winner with Football Genius!

Leave a Reply

