Characters make the story

Bird

Bird

Books wouldn’t be as exciting without the characters in them.  Some characters, like Junie B. Jones, are instantly likable and lovable.  Other characters, like Miss Agatha Trunchbull from Matilda, make you despise them.

Picture books show us more of the feelings of the characters through their brilliant illustrations.  Forever Friends by Carin Berger is a story that I shared with a first grade class today.  The illustrations were simple, yet elegant.  They showed the progression of the seasons and how sad the rabbit was when his friend went away for the winter.

If I could choose to be a picture book character for the day, I would choose to be Franny B. Kranny from Franny B. Kranny There’s a Bird in Your Hair by Harriet Lerner.  I’ve always wanted red hair (yes, I have the red wig to prove it).   And wouldn’t it be fun to have an animal that wanted to live that close to you?  I think so, but it could get a little messy.

If you could be a character in a book, who would you be??? Why?

Bird photo by mikebaird from Flickr Creative Commons

16 thoughts on “Characters make the story

  1. I always wanted to be like Pippi Longstocking ( I loved her pig-tail hair do!!)…I wanted to have a monkey, like Mr. Nilsson, that lived inside with me. I loved her carefree personality and never knowing what she was going to get into next. I enjoyed many adventured “being Pippi” as I read her stories.

  2. I would love to be Katara in Avatar the Last Airbender books. She is strong and wise and can bend water using her powers. She only uses it for good and she has amazing ability to heal anyone wounded. I absolutely love all the characters from the series!

  3. I would like to be Cinderalla of course! Every little and probably big girl (like me) likes the idea of getting all dressed up (magically-no shopping or paying for dress). and going to a fancy ball to dance with -no less–a prince!

  4. I like the character Lorax. I use him as an example of how one voice often goes unheard. We need to take action and join causes that we feel passionate about in life. How would it effect the story if thousands showed up and spoke up with the little Lorax?

  5. I would be Spot in any of Eric Hill’s books. I would like to be Spot because I like dogs and also helping people. Spot always helps his readers learn an educational skill.

  6. I always wanted to be Lucy, from “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C. S. Lewis. As a child, I loved the idea that one could discover a magical world where animals spoke and goodness ultimately prevailed. As an adult, I appreciate her innocence and her belief in the goodness of others.

  7. My fav picture book ever is “Little Red Ridding Hood.”
    If I had a part in this book I would like to be Little Red Ridding Hood.
    I like this book because when I was little my mom used to read it to me when I was 2 to get me to go to sleep.

  8. Joe Hardy,From The Hardy Boys. Because he is the younger son of a father named Fenton Hardy who is a famous detective in which he and his brother Frank Hardy go on many detective cases/

Leave a Reply

