It’s Monday! What are you reading?

alvin ho

One of my latest reads was Alvin Ho:  Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters by Lenore Look.  This is a silly and fun chapter book that I think would appeal to my second graders as a read-aloud and to my third through fifth graders as an independent read.  My favorite part of the story is when Uncle Dennis teaches Alvin a few tricks about how to survive when camping.  One of the tricks is how to set traps in the woods, which Alvin attempts with some success.  Alvin’s Dad is not very pleased with the new skills that Uncle Dennis has shared with his children.  The book is told from Alvin’s perspective, which is quite hilarious!  This is a quick and easy read that will entice new readers to persevere through a chapter book!

juliet dove

A very different title that I decided to read is Juliet Dove, Queen of Love by Bruce Coville.  Several weeks ago I read The Weeping Werewolf (from the Moongobble and Me series) by Bruce Coville and I liked it, so I decided to try another one.  Juliet, an extremely shy girl, notices a magic shop that she has never seen before and decides to go in and look around.  During her visit, she falls in love with a gorgeous locket that she feels she must own.  After acquiring the locket, people start treating Juliet differently.  I am interested to find out how this story will end.

Happy Reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

